Signs of Satvic, Rajasic & Tamasic People

Sattvik, Rajasic, Tamasic

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 14-Verse 2

Lord Sri Krishna in this verse of the Bhagavad Gita, gives an entire synopsis of how life is influenced by the three modes of material nature. They are Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas which translate as the mode of goodness, passion, and ignorance respectively. Unless these three modes of material nature are grasped, one shall not be able to get the right perspective of life.

This becomes an area of primary study if one is eager enough to understand one’s own response, as well as the other’s responses to the many life situations. The Lord guarantees that if one is able to grasp the knowledge relating to the three modes of Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas, one shall be rendered to the qualities of the Lord in the end. This is the Lord’s direct statement.

3 Differentiated Aspects of Brahman

Brahman is the sum totality of all beings. It is the source of all that is and is the primary cause for the material world. The differentiated aspect of Brahman is called Maya. Maya’s unmanifest form is Mahat Tattva. This is the moving energy, Brahman in action. Thus, Brahman has 2 fundamental expressions and 1 derived expression. It is discussed below.

1) Brahman-The stationery aspect: It is the unsullied pure form and is the utter source of all that can be.

2) Maya-Moving aspect: It is the sullied, moving aspect of Brahman also known as Nature which represents Maya, another name for which is material nature.

3) Jeeva- The marginal aspect: The individual soul is called Jeeva. It is a separated part and parcel of Brahman that comes in contact with Maya and takes the position of a living entity. The Jeeva is thus the atomic aspect of Brahman that is trapped in Maya. In other words, it is the sullied aspect of Brahman that becomes marginal due to its subordination to Maya, although the inner soul, driver of the Jeeva, is superior in disposition as compared to Maya.

10 Signs of Satvic People

On coming in contact with material nature, the Jeeva develops within itself three modes of disposition which are three broad categories of “acquired nature”. They are subjected to Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas modes of nature.

1) In the mode of Satva, a person is not hassled by worries.
2) He takes pleasure in acquiring knowledge whether spiritual or material.
3) The pursuit and sustenance of happiness become natural to such a Jeeva.
4) Such a Jeeva loves being secluded. He avoids noise and people as much as possible.
5) He remains internally content and joyful under ordinary unmotivated conditions.
6) The types of food consumed by this type of Jeeva are usually pleasant foodstuff. It is neither very spicy, nor putrid, nor too sweet, nor bitter nor sour.

The food is light and easily digestible consisting of healthy foodstuff. Milk, Ghee, fresh fruits, leafy vegetables, pulses, etc are some foodstuffs qualifying in the Satvic category. However, he does not have intense likes and dislikes like most people have. He is adjustable and is not driven by his taste buds.

7) Such Jeevas are balanced on all grounds. They work neither too less nor too much and are not consumed by actions and goals.
8) They live with minimum expectations and find contentment through small things in life.
9) They are not easily disturbed by situations.
10) They are not revengeful and forgiveness is their closest pal.

10 Signs of Rajasic People

In a Jeeva where Rajas is predominant, the Jeeva is:
1) Attached to actions and their results.
2) They get extremely passionate and ambitious.
3) Rajasic people get obsessed with ideas and go on overdrive.
4) They usually like eating hot and spicy food. Additionally, they like too much sweet and salty foods.
5) Activities are driven by deep-rooted motives and ambitions towards material gain and prosperity.


6) Some of these Jeevas may also take to enjoying bodily pleasures. They also tend to enjoy life more than others.
7) They are more concerned with transactions revolving around profit and loss, thus making them opportunistic in their approach towards life conditions.
8) Their emotions are not quite intense as they use their mind for calculative purposes.
9) They are likely to be less empathetic as compared to living entities dominated by Sattva.
10) Unlike Satvic people, rajasic people tend to display kindness, less frequently. Their high amount of greed to acquire more and self-interest can turn them into self-centered activists.

10 Signs of Jeevas in the mode of Tamas

A Jeeva who is harassed by the Mode of Ignorance or Tamas:
1) He is in the mode of darkness or utter negativity.
2) Such Jeevas are indolent and driven by sleep and procrastination.
3) They are also given into a cheating mentality.
4) Jeevas dominated by Tamas can cause harm to others through unfair means.
5) They like foods that are essentially putrid. They have a special liking for meat and animal food.

They also possess,

6) The aspects of violence and causing harm for self-gain are predominant.
7) They also have a tendency to indulge in taking unfair and short-cut means towards success.
8) They may have an inclination towards gambling. Their acts are driven by immoral intentions, developing a criminal mentality.
9) Wasting time in mental speculation is common in Tamasic people.
10) Sleep and ignorance dominate such individuals whose character may have many dark shades. 

Lord Krishna summarizes the Three modes of material nature

(Chapter 14, verse 9), Sri Krishna declares:

1) The Jeeva in the mode of Sattva is bound to happiness.
2) People driven by Rajas (the mode of passion) are bound to fruitive activities and their cycling outcomes.
3) while, Tamasic people are bound to inner madness and sickness

In common man, all three modes are generally present with a predominance of one mode over the other two. The three modes may gain dominance depending on the hour of the day. It is a common observation that during the morning, Sattva is predominant. Rajas becomes predominant towards noon. It becomes most evident towards the evening. At last, Tamas becomes dominant in man as nightfall approaches.

(Chapter 14, verses 14, 15)

A Jeeva dying when the mode of Sattva is predominant attains the higher world of the sages. On the other hand, a Jeeva dying in the mode of Rajas, takes birth on a planet infested with other beings, like the earth. Living entities who die in the mode of ignorance, Tamas, degrade to lower planetary systems. They will be surrounded by lower beings. Tamasic people are cursed to live in nasty conditions due to their impure thoughts and actions.
Thanks for reading!

Have a Look at Our Latest Posts
Visit our other website: